Gamemaker help! (Now with FAQ)
Author |
Message |
Feng
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2008 4:01 pm Posts: 239 Location: GA
Gender: Male
|
THE FIREBALL IS MESSED UP and no one answered the combo's atk thing. THE DMG THING IS NEW. LOOK AT THE DEMO IF YOU WANT http://www.yoyogames.com/games/show/61139
_________________Live by the sword die by the sword... Adopted by KonamiFlash, Guitar_Hero is my uncle mii and j-corp are my grandparents children:SmashKing08, maniacmario64, Glydekid, SolidKlonoa wife:ashante08 Intelligence Test
|
Sun Nov 23, 2008 1:36 pm |
|
|
:WEE:
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2008 10:50 am Posts: 470 Location: not here!!!!!! Location: i alredy told u Location: quit asking!!! Location: glitchy thing!
|
here, try this: for the character object, create a new action for 'Press <Attack Button>' in it, create variable globalvarattack (or something like that, i don't fully understand creating a variable) and for the amount put 1. create a timer, and after so-and-so milliseconds, reset the globalvarattack to 0. what that does is, it makes it so each time the player presses the attack key it'll add 1 to the attack variable, and after however many milliseconds, it resets to 0 so you have to start adding from 0 again. create a new block. create a 'check variable' and input globalvarattack. check for if it's equal to 1. if it is, make the character do the first attack in the combo. for that attack, set variable health to go down so-and-so amount for other. end block. create a new block again. create another check variable, and once more put in globalvarattack. this time, though, check if it's equal to 2. if it is, you make the character use the second attack. do the same thing as before to set the damage that attack does. end block. repeat until all combo moves are complete. i'm pretty sure that's how it would work, but my comp is broken so i'm not able to test it.
_________________ Default: Haingi Purple: Hollow Orange: Uchiwa Blue: Orine
|
Sun Nov 23, 2008 4:43 pm |
|
|
Living Shadow
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2008 10:43 am Posts: 641
Gender: Male
|
Alright, how do I make it so that when I press the jump button, it goes to the jump sprite, and when that animation ends, it goes to a fall. Every time I try it, my character goes through the floor slowly.
_________________ Tyler~
|
Sun Nov 23, 2008 11:41 pm |
|
|
Feng
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2008 4:01 pm Posts: 239 Location: GA
Gender: Male
|
| | | | :WEE: wrote: here, try this: for the character object, create a new action for 'Press <Attack Button>' in it, create variable globalvarattack (or something like that, i don't fully understand creating a variable) and for the amount put 1. create a timer, and after so-and-so milliseconds, reset the globalvarattack to 0. what that does is, it makes it so each time the player presses the attack key it'll add 1 to the attack variable, and after however many milliseconds, it resets to 0 so you have to start adding from 0 again. create a new block. create a 'check variable' and input globalvarattack. check for if it's equal to 1. if it is, make the character do the first attack in the combo. for that attack, set variable health to go down so-and-so amount for other. end block. create a new block again. create another check variable, and once more put in globalvarattack. this time, though, check if it's equal to 2. if it is, you make the character use the second attack. do the same thing as before to set the damage that attack does. end block. repeat until all combo moves are complete. i'm pretty sure that's how it would work, but my comp is broken so i'm not able to test it. | | | | |
YES MASTA! Darn im confused, but can you break it down in step,or make a list please?
_________________Live by the sword die by the sword... Adopted by KonamiFlash, Guitar_Hero is my uncle mii and j-corp are my grandparents children:SmashKing08, maniacmario64, Glydekid, SolidKlonoa wife:ashante08 Intelligence Test
Last edited by Feng on Tue Nov 25, 2008 2:04 pm, edited 1 time in total.
|
Mon Nov 24, 2008 1:07 pm |
|
|
:WEE:
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2008 10:50 am Posts: 470 Location: not here!!!!!! Location: i alredy told u Location: quit asking!!! Location: glitchy thing!
|
so... it works?
_________________ Default: Haingi Purple: Hollow Orange: Uchiwa Blue: Orine
|
Mon Nov 24, 2008 4:15 pm |
|
|
Feng
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2008 4:01 pm Posts: 239 Location: GA
Gender: Male
|
| | | | riq5 wrote: | | | | :WEE: wrote: here, try this: for the character object, create a new action for 'Press <Attack Button>' in it, create variable globalvarattack (or something like that, i don't fully understand creating a variable) and for the amount put 1. create a timer, and after so-and-so milliseconds, reset the globalvarattack to 0. what that does is, it makes it so each time the player presses the attack key it'll add 1 to the attack variable, and after however many milliseconds, it resets to 0 so you have to start adding from 0 again. create a new block. create a 'check variable' and input globalvarattack. check for if it's equal to 1. if it is, make the character do the first attack in the combo. for that attack, set variable health to go down so-and-so amount for other. end block. create a new block again. create another check variable, and once more put in globalvarattack. this time, though, check if it's equal to 2. if it is, you make the character use the second attack. do the same thing as before to set the damage that attack does. end block. repeat until all combo moves are complete. i'm pretty sure that's how it would work, but my comp is broken so i'm not able to test it. | | | | |
YES MASTA! Darn im confused, but can you break it down in step,or make a list please? | | | | |
^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
_________________Live by the sword die by the sword... Adopted by KonamiFlash, Guitar_Hero is my uncle mii and j-corp are my grandparents children:SmashKing08, maniacmario64, Glydekid, SolidKlonoa wife:ashante08 Intelligence Test
|
Tue Nov 25, 2008 2:05 pm |
|
|
:WEE:
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2008 10:50 am Posts: 470 Location: not here!!!!!! Location: i alredy told u Location: quit asking!!! Location: glitchy thing!
|
create a new block again. create another check variable, and once more put in globalvarattack. this time, though, check if it's equal to 2. if it is, you make the character use the second attack. do the same thing as before to set the damage that attack does. end block.
repeat until all combo moves are complete.
-Enter the character object (Ryu, or whoever you're using for the character) -Create a new action, for Press <The attack button> (delete < and > and all imbetween, and replace it with what it tells you to do [Example: Press <Attack> might be Press X]) -Make another action, this one Create. Use Create Variable, and create globalvar<attack variable, i suggest making this just attack or atk> and set it to 0. -Go back into the Press <Attack> action, and start a new block. -In the block, create a timer and make the milliseconds however long you want it to be before you have to restart the combo again. -Then make a create variable, and set it to be globalvaratk (I'm using that for the example, change it to what you're using for the attack). Change it to 0 again. -End that block. -Create Variable once more, and once again make it globalvaratk. Set it to 1 this time, though. -Start a new block. -Create a Variable Check and for the variable input globalvaratk. Then check if it's equal to 1. -If it is, change the character sprite to that attack and input the damage for that first attack, setting it to Other. -End the block. -Start yet another block, and do a Variable Check for globalvaratk. Check if it's equal to 2 this time. -If it is, change the character sprite to the second attack in the combo and input the damage for the second attack, and set it once more to Other. -End the block. -Repeat until all the combo moves are complete, and they should each have individual damage.
Like I said before, there's no way to tell if it'll work unless you (or somebody else) tests it, because my comp with GM broke and I can't download anything on this one.
_________________ Default: Haingi Purple: Hollow Orange: Uchiwa Blue: Orine
|
Tue Nov 25, 2008 4:08 pm |
|
|
Living Shadow
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2008 10:43 am Posts: 641
Gender: Male
|
just making sure you don't skip over it every time
_________________ Tyler~
|
Tue Nov 25, 2008 6:21 pm |
|
|
Feng
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2008 4:01 pm Posts: 239 Location: GA
Gender: Male
|
I think I can help you BUT I gotta wait til my mom is off comp.
_________________Live by the sword die by the sword... Adopted by KonamiFlash, Guitar_Hero is my uncle mii and j-corp are my grandparents children:SmashKing08, maniacmario64, Glydekid, SolidKlonoa wife:ashante08 Intelligence Test
|
Tue Nov 25, 2008 11:03 pm |
|
|
Living Shadow
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2008 10:43 am Posts: 641
Gender: Male
|
Alright, thanks. Also, do you know how to make it so that if you're making a sidescroller or rpg, the healthbar moves with the screen (like it stays in the same place no matter what happens?)
_________________ Tyler~
|
Tue Nov 25, 2008 11:24 pm |
|
|
:WEE:
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2008 10:50 am Posts: 470 Location: not here!!!!!! Location: i alredy told u Location: quit asking!!! Location: glitchy thing!
|
let me know if the combo works, too.
_________________ Default: Haingi Purple: Hollow Orange: Uchiwa Blue: Orine
|
Wed Nov 26, 2008 2:24 pm |
|
|
Crazy
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2008 7:46 pm Posts: 278 Location: Florida
Gender: Male
|
how do alarms work??
|
Fri Nov 28, 2008 2:59 pm |
|
|
Original Unbastard
Joined: Sun Aug 17, 2008 5:39 pm Posts: 1248
Gender: Anime Girl
Skype: Nacritico
Currently Playing: LOL
|
You have to do two things: "Set them", and "trigger them" Set them: Putting something inside the alarm, that will happen once the alarm is actived. (If this were an alarm clock, the "Set" would be ringing) Trigger them: You put somewhere when do you want the alarm to be actived. For example, after a character dies, you put that in 1000 seconds, you want to start an alarm who reset the level.
_________________SALU2'S ™ _________________ join date: January 08, 2007 Posts on old MG: 2432, level 16 nà chóu
|
Sat Nov 29, 2008 9:12 am |
|
|
Deep Thought 42
Legendary Ghost
Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2008 7:44 am Posts: 1031 Location: Pennsylvania Country:
Gender: Male
|
| | | | Shinigami[Nac] wrote: You have to do two things: "Set them", and "trigger them" Set them: Putting something inside the alarm, that will happen once the alarm is actived. (If this were an alarm clock, the "Set" would be ringing) Trigger them: You put somewhere when do you want the alarm to be actived. For example, after a character dies, you put that in 1000 seconds, you want to start an alarm who reset the level. | | | | |
Hint: Gamemaker measures times in "steps". 30 steps = 1 second
_________________ Place all complaints in the circular file.
|
Sat Nov 29, 2008 6:58 pm |
|
|
Sirtopeia
SSF2 Developer
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2008 6:41 am Posts: 982 Location: Lost in binary. Country:
Gender: Anime Girl
|
but you can change that to 60 if desired
_________________Adopted by Spikeman & capcomflash.
|
Sat Nov 29, 2008 8:41 pm |
|
|
Who is online |
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest |
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot post attachments in this forum
|
|