The McLeodGaming forums were permanently closed on April 30th, 2020. You are currently viewing a read-only archive.
View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Fri May 15, 2020 5:39 am

Forum rules


IMPORTANT

This Forum is for Flash related questions ONLY! Do not ask questions about spriting, Game Maker, Photoshop, or anything else not related to Flash.



 [ 18 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
[Question] Controlling Sprites 
Author Message
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 29, 2009 11:28 pm
Posts: 323
Location: Nowhere, Antarctica
Gender: Anime Girl
Skype: Evilagram
Since you're clearly too stupid to figure it out, I'm suggesting that you actually learn how to use the program you are attempting to make a game in. As in, try some simple tutorials and get an understanding for how the thing actually works before trying to do something stupid with it.

_________________
Image

Style [Stayl] (n) - One's unique and personal method of defacing a perfectly good piece of paper.

READ THIS: http://ipgd.freehostia.com/copypasta.html


Mon Jul 20, 2009 10:46 pm
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 29, 2009 12:27 pm
Posts: 14
Listen a** whole im already doing that if you got nothing else that's gonna help f*** off. :twisted:

_________________
Image


Tue Jul 21, 2009 4:52 pm
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2008 6:56 am
Posts: 469
Location: not so superhappy fun fun land....
Calm down everyone. Even though it could have been said nicer, Evilagram is right. If you plan on makeing a game in a program, you should know how to use it. You make a character with the paintbrush tool, square tool, etc... and click on the black mouse on the tool bar. Highlight your character and press F8, make sure movieclip is selected, then press ok. click on your movieclip and a blue box should surround it. press F9 and insert actionscript there.
if it's a side scroller:
make an empty movie clip and insert your animation in there.
add this to your code:
Code:
onClipEvent(load) {
scale = _xscale
}
onClipEvent(enterFrame) {
if (Key.isDown(Key.LEFT)) {
//Double click on you character and make a keyframe on frame two. insert your moving movie clip.
this.gotoAndPlay(2);
_xscale = -scale
}
if (Key.isDown(Key.RIGHT)) {
this.gotoAndPlay(2);
_xscale = scale
}

if its an RPGish... thingy game:
Code:
onClipEvent(enterFrame) {
if (Key.isDown(Key.LEFT)) {
this.gotoAndPlay(2);
}
if (Key.isDown(Key.RIGHT)) {
this.gotoAndPlay(3);
}
if (Key.isDown(Key.UP)) {
this.gotoAndPlay(4);
}
if (Key.isDown(Key.DOWN)) {
this.gotoAndPlay(5);
}
}
onClipEvent (keyUp) {
if (Key.getCode() == Key.LEFT) {
this.gotoAndPlay(6);
}
}
onClipEvent (keyUp) {
if (Key.getCode() == Key.RIGHT) {
this.gotoAndPlay(7);
}
}
onClipEvent (keyUp) {
if (Key.getCode() == Key.UP) {
this.gotoAndPlay(8);
}
}
onClipEvent (keyUp) {
if (Key.getCode() == Key.DOWN) {
this.gotoAndPlay(1);
}
}

alright:
1. make your guy
2. inside your guy:
-insert a keyframe on frame 1 (right-click on frame one and click on insert keyframe)
-put your guy facing down in it. (put the plus sign by the character's feet)
3. insert a keyframe on frame 2:
-if you have a walking animation (recomended) put the first frame of it on this keyframe (feet at the + sign like frame one) and make it a movieclip.
4. inside THAT movieclip:
-IF IT'S A GIF IMAGE AS A WALKING IMAGE:
-click on you guy on frame 1
-delete him
-paste the gif image on frame one
-done
-IF IT'S A SERIES OF IMAGES NOT IN GIF FORM
-keep frame one
-paste the images as said by making new keyframes in that movieclip
*NOTE: if you want to fix your walking image, just move the keyframes in it to a different spot to make it quicker or shorter.
-done
5. do the same thing as Frame 2 as you would for frame 3, 4, & 5.
*NOTE: Frame 2 = walking left Frame 3 = walking right Frame 4 = walking up Frame 5 = walking down.
6. NOW still in that guy movieclip, insert a keyframe in frame 6
-put the guy standing left in it (FEET ON + SIGN!!!! I CAN'T STRESS THAT ENOUGH!!!!)
-done
7. Do that for frames 7 & 8
*NOTE: Frame 6 = standing LEFT Frame 7 = standing RIGHT Frame 8 = standing facing UP
***NOTE: Standing down has already been made in frame 1, it's not needed again.
8. put this code on all of the frames in this guy movieclip:
Code:
stop();

I already posted the RPGish thingy on a previous topic but its hard to find.
If I messed up, please tell me and I'll fix it.

_________________
Image

ashante08 wrote:
We argue, we try to understand each of our problems, we argue some more, rinse and repeat


Thu Jul 23, 2009 1:16 pm
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 [ 18 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Designed by ST Software for PTF.